Sow Named to Lou Henson Player of the Year Watch List

Sow Named to Lou Henson Player of the Year Watch List

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - UC Santa Barbara sophomore forward Amadou Sow has been named to the Lou Henson Award Watch List, it was announced Wednesday.

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the nation's top Division I mid-major player.

In 2018-19, 6-foot-9 Sow had one of the finest freshman seasons in UCSB history and was named Second Team All-Big West. He averaged 12.2 points and 6.6 rebounds per game and set school freshman records for points (391), field goals (150), field goal percentage (56.4%) and free throw attempts (127). Sow's total of 210 rebounds were the second most by a Gaucho freshman.

Sow is one of just eight underclassmen on the list of 50 players. He is joined by Lamine Diane of CSUN as the only two Big West Conference players on the list.

The Lou Henson Award honors Henson, the former Illinois and New Mexico State coach who won 775 games in 41 seasons. Henson is the winningest coach in Illinois basketball history with 423 victories. During his 21 seasons (1975-1996), Henson led the Fighting Illini to 16 postseason appearances, including 12 NCAA tournaments and a Final Four appearance in 1989.

Henson, who is also the all-time winningest coach in New Mexico State history with 289 victories, is one of only 11 coaches to take two different schools to the NCAA Final Four. His teams have made 19 NCAA appearances and four NIT appearances.

The 2019-20 Lou Henson National Player of the Year Award will be announced in April 2020 in Atlanta, GA, site of the men's Division I NCAA Basketball Championship.