Nick DePuy Named All-American, Becomes Fourth Gaucho Ever to Earn First Team Status

Nick DePuy Named All-American, Becomes Fourth Gaucho Ever to Earn First Team Status

Get social with the Gauchos! To stay up-to-date on all things UCSB soccer, follow the team Twitter account, like us on Facebook, and bookmark the UCSB Soccer Community Outreach Blog.

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. – UC Santa Barbara junior forward Nick DePuy has been selected as a First Team All-American, it was announced by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) on Friday morning. 

DePuy becomes just the fourth UCSB soccer student-athlete ever to earn First Team status, and the first since Luis Silva in 2011. He is the Gauchos' 19th All-America selection all-time, with all but one of those picks coming since 2002. 

DePuy just wrapped up one of the most prolific campaigns by a striker in program history, notching 15 goals and eight game-winning goals, more than any other Division I player at the conclusion of the regular season. He also tallied 31 points and 80 shots, which led all Big West players by a wide margin. 

Before today, he had been named Big West Offensive Player of the Year, All-Big West First Team, Far West All-Region First Team, and a MAC Hermann Trophy Semifinalist. He received the former two awards for the second consecutive year. 

Since being converted to a forward on Sept. 26, 2014, no other player in Division I men's soccer has more goals than him (24). Earlier this season, the All-League First Team selection became the first athlete ever to win three consecutive Big West Offensive Player of the Week awards after a stretch in which he scored six goals (including four game-winners) over a five-game period. 

In addition, the six-foot-four DePuy was named the National Player of the Week on Oct. 5 after potting three goals and two game-winners in away wins at UC Irvine and Cal State Northridge. 

With DePuy as the focal point of the attack, UCSB ended the 2015 campaign with a 14-7-2 record, a ninth Big West regular season championship, a third straight North Division title, and its 12th trip to the NCAA Tournament. With a league-high nine All-Conference honorees, including Coach of the Year Tim Vom Steeg and Freshman of the Year Geoffrey Acheampong, the Gauchos ended up advancing to the Sweet 16 for the seventh time in program history. 

Three finalists for the Mac Hermann Trophy will be announced on this Friday, Dec. 11. Fans can still vote for their favorite players on the official trophy website here. DePuy currently ranks fifth in voting among the 15 semifinalists. 

Past UCSB First Team All-Americans include Silva, Andy Iro (2007), and Drew McAthy (2004).