Men’s Soccer Unveils 2018 Schedule

Men’s Soccer Unveils 2018 Schedule

CLICK HERE TO PURCHASE SEASON TICKETS

CLICK HERE TO VIEW FULL SCHEDULE

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. – The 2018 UC Santa Barbara men's soccer season is right around the corner, and with it, the College Cup hosted by UCSB at Harder Stadium on Dec. 7 and 9. Season ticket packages are currently available and on Monday afternoon, head coach Tim Vom Steeg announced the Gauchos' exciting upcoming schedule.

The fall slate features a handful of marquee matchups at home, including Big East opponent St. John's (N.Y.) in the regular season opener on Friday, Aug. 24, a Saturday, Sept. 8 meeting against Butler, and a Saturday, Sept. 22 match against UCLA. The Gauchos will also host Gonzaga from the WCC in a midweek Tuesday night matchup on Sept. 25.

"Our schedule is built around getting our team quality games and opponents in order for us to compete for the College Cup," Vom Steeg said. "All of the teams that we have on our schedule we expect to have strong programs and provide strong competition for us."

One of the biggest changes to the schedule in 2018 is the Big West doing away with the North and South Divisions, which had been in place since the 2012 season. Vom Steeg led UCSB to four of the past six North Division titles during that span, but is looking forward to returning to the Big West's original format.

"Now that we have changed the format of the conference, it allows us to add a couple more non-conference games to our schedule and give the Big West teams a chance to increase our RPI," Vom Steeg said.

With the additional non-conference games, UCSB was able to schedule challenging road matches against Portland on Friday, Aug. 31, Seattle on Sunday, Sept. 2, New Mexico on Tuesday, Sept. 11 and St. Mary's (Cal.) on Wednesday, Sept. 19.

Big West play will officially begin for the Gauchos on Wednesday, Oct. 3 at Sacramento State and UCSB will now play each conference opponent just once.

In order to retain the greatest rivalry in college soccer that has accounted for the two-best attended men's soccer games for the past six consecutive seasons, UCSB and Cal Poly will still face off twice, however, only one match will count towards the conference standings.

In 2018, that match will be the regular season finale on Saturday, Oct. 27 at Harder Stadium. The Gauchos will play at Cal Poly in a designated non-conference match on Sunday, Sept. 30.

In addition to the Cal Poly match, other Big West home games for the Gauchos in the fall will be against Cal State Fullerton on Saturday, Oct. 6, UC Davis on Wednesday, Oct. 17 and CSUN on Saturday, Oct. 20.

The Gauchos will kick off the 2018 campaign with a pair of exhibitions beginning with San Diego State on Sunday, Aug. 12 at 7:00 p.m. followed by its annual matchup with Westmont on Saturday, Aug. 18 at 7:00 p.m.

To view the full schedule, please click here.