Former Gaucho TK Erwin Wins Season 12 of "The Amazing Race"

Jan. 22, 2008

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - TK Erwin, a former team captain of the UC Santa Barbara men's swim team, and his girlfriend Rachel Rosales won the 12th season of the CBS reality race program "The Amazing Race" it was revealed during Sunday's finale episode. The couple outlasted 10 other teams on their way to the $1 million prize.

Erwin, the Gaucho men's team captain during the 2005-06 season, set a school record in the 200 backstroke during his senior campaign with a time of 1:47.14. The record has since been broken by teammate Chris Good. He was a four-year letterwinner for the Gauchos and was also an All-Big West All-Academic team honoree and Golden Eagle Award winner.

"The Amazing Race" is a show that features 11 teams of two people that have preexisting relationships. Each team competed for a prize of $1 million. This season, the race spanned 10 cities, four continents, and almost 30,000 miles. One of three teams to make it to the final episode, Erwin and Rosales were the first to reach the finish line in Anchorage, Alaska and were named the winners.

Since the airing of the finale, Erwin and Rosales have appeared on the CBS Morning Show on Monday and appeared on Live with Regis and Kelly this morning.

For more information on "The Amazing Race", go to