Gauchos Edge UC Santa Cruz 4-3 in Regular Season Finale

April 21, 2006

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - In its final match of the 2006 regular season, the UC Santa Barbara men's tennis team edged UC Santa Cruz 4-3 Friday afternoon at the Recreation Center Courts.

The Gauchos sent seniors Hagen Brody and Nick Brotman off with a victory in their last home match and improved to 14-9 in dual meet action.

The Banana Slugs - defending NCAA Division III champions and currently ranked sixth nationally - opened the afternoon's proceedings by taking the doubles point. Deadlocked at one win apiece, the deciding match took place at the No. 1 spot, where UCSC's Matt Seeberger and Shane Templeton edged Brotman and Anders Dalskov 9-8.

Santa Barbara responded with three straight-set victories in singles courtesy of freshman Bijan Hejazi, junior Elad Stern and freshman Scott Hohenstein at No. 2, 4 and 5, respectively. Meanwhile Santa Cruz' Julian Sunn posted a hard-fought 6-4, 5-7, 7-5 win on court six to pull his squad within 3-2.

Due to time and travel constraints, the two teams agreed to forgo the third set at both No. 1 and 3 singles, instead playing first-to-10 tiebreakers. Seeberger rallied to defeat Brotman 2-6, 6-3, (10-5) in the top spot to knot things at three wins apiece, and all eyes then focused on the battle between Dalskov and UCSC's Jared Kamel. The Gaucho sophomore triumphed 6-3, 6-7, (10-4) to secure victory for the home team.

UCSB will next take the court at the Big West Conference Championships in Indian Wells, Calif., next weekend. As the top seed, Santa Barbara has earned a bye into the semifinals where it will face either UC Riverside or Cal Poly on Saturday, April 29 at 3:00 p.m.

UC Santa Barbara 4, UC Santa Cruz 3

Doubles 1) Seeberger/Templeton (UCSC) def. Brotman/Dalskov (UCSB) - 9-8 2) Hohestein/Hejazi (UCSB) def. Gendelman/Ortiz (UCSC) - 8-4 3) Kamel.Villalobos (UCSC) def. Brody/Stern (UCSB) - 8-5

Singles 1) Matt Seeberger (UCSC) def. Nick Brotman (UCSB) - 2-6, 6-3, (10-5) 2) Bijan Hejazi (UCSB) def. Shane Templeton (UCSC) - 7-5, 6-0 3) Anders Dalskov (UCSB) def. Jared Kamel (UCSC) - 6-3, 6-7, (10-4) 4) Elad Stern (UCSB) def. Colin Mark-Griffin (UCSC) - 6-2, 6-1 5) Scott Hohenstein (UCSB) def. Alex Villalobos (UCSC) - 6-3, 6-1 6) Julian Sunn (UCSC) def. Max Taylor (UCSB) - 6-4, 5-7, 7-5