Rogers and Dalhausser Win Opening AVP Event

April 17, 2007

Miami, Fla. - Fomer UCSB standout Todd Rogers and beach partner Phil Dalhausser picked up where they left off last season and won the opening event of the 2007 AVP Tour Sunday. The team defeated Jake Gibb and Sean Rosenthal in straight sets at the Miami Open.

Scores were 21-14 and 21-18.

Rogers and Dalhausser have won three consecutive tour events as they concluded their 2006 campaign with victories at the Cincinnati Open and the Lake Tahoe Best of the Beach. Overall, the duo won eight AVP Tour titles last season.

Gibb, who had won the previous two AVP openers, had his streak snapped.

Dalhausser, the 2006 AVP Best Offensive Player, and Rogers, the reigning Best Defensive Player, defeated the top-seeded squad of Stein Metzger and Mike Lambert in sweeping fashion in the semifinals.

The circuit continues April 19-22 with the Dallas Open.