Rogers and Dalhausser Win Their Fourth AVP Event of the Season

Rogers and Dalhausser Win Their Fourth AVP Event of the Season

May 21, 2007

Hermosa Beach, Calif. - The powerhouse beach volleyball team of Todd Rogers and Phil Dalhausser cruised to a straight-set win over Matt Olson and Jason Ring Sunday in the finals of the Hermosa Beach Open. The duo has won four of five events so far this season on the AVP circuit.

It took just 53 minutes for Rogers and Dalhausser to roll to a 21-17, 21-12 victory and pick up their second Hermosa title in as many years.

Rogers and Dalhausser easily downed Dax Holdren and Jeff Nygaard 21-11, 21-12 in the semifinals, while Olson and Ring topped Mike Lambert and Stein Metzger 21-18, 14-21, 15-13 to advance to the finals.

For Olson and Ring, it was their first appearance in a final match. Jake Gibb and Sean Rosenthal, who were eliminated by Holdren and Nygaard in the contender's bracket, had finished second in the previous four tour stops.

A finals preview occurred in the winner's bracket as Rogers and Dalhausser met Olson and Ring and came away with a 21-19, 21-16 win. In other winner's bracket matches, Rogers and Dalhausser defeated Matt Fuerbringer and Sean Scott (21-16, 22-20), Brent Doble and Ryan Mariano (21-16, 21-14), and Sam Haghighi and Dane Pearson (21-9, 21-11).

In other news, former Long Beach State standout Misty May-Treanor passed Holly McPeak to become the all-time career title holder with 73. May-Treanor and Kerri Walsh beat Tyra Turner and Rachel Wacholder in straight sets in the women's final.

The AVP season continues May 24-27 with the Louisville Open in Kentucky.