Manhattan Beach Title Successfully Defended by Rogers and Dalhausser

Manhattan Beach Title Successfully Defended by Rogers and Dalhausser

Aug. 13, 2007

MANHATTAN BEACH, Calif. - For the first time since 1993, the AVP Manhattan Beach Open title was successfully defended as Todd Rogers and Phil Dalhausser defeated Dax Holdren and Sean Scott 2-1 in Sunday's championship match to pick up their seventh tour crown of the season.

Rogers and Dalhausser, the third-seeded team, dropped the first set 20-22, but came back to win the next two frames by scores of 21-16 and 15-11 over Holdren and Scott, the eighth seed.

In the semifinals, Rogers and Dalhausser knocked out second-seeded Jake Gibb and Sean Rosenthal 26-24 and 21-12. Their lone setback was a three-set loss against sixth-seeded Anthony Medel and Fred Souza in a winner's bracket match on Saturday. Medel and Souza dispatched top-seeded Mike Lambert and Stein Metzger to advance to the semis, where they were ousted by Holdren and Scott in three sets.

Dalhausser led all players with 47 blocks over 18 games. He was also second in service aces (17) and hitting percentage (.537) for the tourney. Rogers finished the event with 86 digs, tied with Holdren for the second-most of any competitor.

Prior to Sunday, beach legends Karch Kiraly and Kent Steffes were the last duo to defend a Manhattan title as they won three straight between 1991 and 1993. A total of seven men's teams now have multiple titles in Manhattan Beach, while five have successfully defended their crowns in a tournament that began in 1960 and is the longest continually running event on tour. In 2006, Rogers and Dalhausser topped Lambert and Metzger in the finals to get their names permanently engraved in the Manhattan Beach pier.

Rogers has won AVP titles with both Holdren and Scott as a partner. In fact, Rogers and Holdren won a CIF championship in 1991 at San Marcos High School in Santa Barbara and began their beach careers together, winning five AVP events between 1995 and 2001. Rogers teamed up with Scott in 2001 and went on to collect four AVP wins over the next four seasons.

Current Gauchos Ben Brockman, Theo Brunner, and Andy McGuire also competed at this year's Manhattan Open. Brockman and Brunner played together and lost their opening match in three games against Beau Daniels and James Ka in the qualifier bracket. McGuire teamed with Will Montgomery and lost in two sets vs. Hawk Hatcher and Curt Toppel, also in the first round of the qualifier bracket.

With three tournaments remaining on the 2007 slate, Rogers and Dalhausser are in first place in the AVP Tour standings with 4,698 points. Lambert and Metzger are second (4,248) and Gibb and Rosenthal sit in third (4,230).

The AVP Tour heads east for the Boston Open August 16-19.