Jenna Green Named to Division I-AAA Scholar-Athlete Team

April 9, 2009

The 26 winners of the seventh annual Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association Scholar-Athlete Teams were announced today by the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) and the women's basketball team included UC Santa Barbara senior center Jenna Green.

"It's an honor for the Division I-AAA ADA to annually award these academic all-star teams," stated Jean Lenti Ponsetto, chair of the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee and athletics director at DePaul University. "These student-athletes personify the definition of student-athlete, both on and off the court. Our Association is proud to be represented by such a strong group of student-athletes."

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. He/she must have reached junior athletics and academic standing at the nominated institution (true freshmen, red-shirt freshmen and ineligible athletics transfers are not eligible) and have completed at least three academic semesters/five quarters at the nominated institution. Nominated student-athletes must have participated in at least 50 percent of the team's games listed on the nomination form.

Green played in 30 games in 2008-09, starting 26 of them. She averaged 11.3 points and 6.0 rebounds per game. She finished her UCSB career as the seventh all-time scorer in school history.

Men's Scholar-Athlete Team
Name Institution GPA Major
Jason Holsinger* Evansville 3.89 Economics
Tomas Jasiulionis St. John's 3.60 Finance
Kevin Lisch Saint Louis 3.48/4.00 Business Administration/MBA
Phillip Martin Radford 3.91 Social Science & Philosophy/Religious Studies
Yves Mekango Mbala LaSalle 3.82 Integrated Science, Business & Technology
Milan Prodanovic Iona 3.66 Finance
Mike Schachtner Wisconsin Green Bay 3.81 Psychology
Robin Smeulders Portland 3.25 Marketing & Management
Ryan Tillema Wisconsin Green Bay 3.40 Business Administration
Andy Wicke Belmont 3.74 Environmental Studies

Honorable Mention:
Chad Troyer Pacific 3.50 Communications

Women's Scholar-Athlete Team
Name Institution GPA Major

Felicia Chester DePaul 3.76 Sociology
Elizabeth Doran Santa Clara 3.93 Bio-Engineering
Jenna Green UC Santa Barbara 4.00 Special Education, Disabilities & Risk Studies
Theresa Lisch Saint Louis 3.95 Communication Sciences & Disorders
Katelyn Murray St. Bonaventure 4.00 Biology
Jessica Pike * Oakland 3.93 Wellness, Health Promotion & Injury Prevention
Traci Ray North Carolina Charlotte 3.72 Art History
Jami Schaefer Gonzaga 3.95 Business Administration
Erin Templin Wisconsin Green Bay 3.65 Business Administration
Jenny Van Kirk Bradley 4.00 Pre-Med
Natasha Williams DePaul 3.29/3.68 Corporate & Multicultural Communications

Honorable Mention:
Robyn Fairbanks Utah Valley 3.21 Exercise Science
Shannon Novosel Evansville 3.80 Mass Communications & Spanish
Morgan Robertson LaSalle 3.87 Political Science & Psychology

* Scholar-Athlete of the Year