Ward Sets New UCSB Standard in 100 Fly; Gauchos Continue to Battle

Ward Sets New UCSB Standard in 100 Fly; Gauchos Continue to Battle

Feb. 25, 2011


Complete Results in PDF FormatGet Acrobat Reader

LONG BEACH, Calif - UCSB posted yet another school record on Friday at the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Swimming and Diving Championships, which are being held at Belmont Plaza. The Gauchos trail UC Davis 532-443 entering Saturday's final day of competition.

Andrea Ward set her second UCSB record of the weekend and won her second MPSF title in the 100 butterfly. She posted a NCAA OeB, qualifying time of 53.83, which is .08 seconds faster than Jen Schwalb's 2005 record.

Laurel Ferguson took third in the event, touching the wall in 55.69 (she posted a time of 55.66 in the event,s prelims). Miranda Schneider (56.51) and Brittany Borowitz (57.49) also earned points in the 100 fly, finishing 11th and 16th, respectively.

The day started off with the 400 individual medley. The Gauchos, top finisher in the event was Allie Knight, who took third place in 4:20.90. UC Davis, Heidi Kucera won the event in 4:14.70. Taylor Munk also qualified for the 400 IM finals; she took sixth in 4:25.14.

Katie Tomkinson was UCSB,s top finisher in the 200 free taking fourth in 1:50.42. Anne Peanasky took sixth in 1:51.20 and Emma Hunt placed eighth in 1:53.24 (she posted a time of 1:52.09 in the prelims). Monica Garcia also scored in the 200 free, she finished 10th in 1:52.02.

In the 100 breast, Sophia Yamauchi and Paige Bradley went two-three. Yamauchi posted a career-best time of 1:01.18 and Bradley also achieved a season-best, touching the wall in 1:01.21. Both times are NCAA 'B', qualifying times.

Three Gauchos scored in the 100 backstroke. Kendall Neely placed fourth in the event,s final in 56.57. Meanwhile, Mariah Tharp (58.45) and Katie Reeves (59.19, 58.43 in prelims) finished 14th and 16th, respectively.

In the three-meter diving competition, Missy Burley posted a score of 185.10.

The Gauchos finished the day with a win in the 200 free relay. The UCSB 'A', team of Neely, Yamauchi, Tomkinson and Mariah Tharp touched the wall in 1:32.33, beating out the UC Davis team by .30 seconds. The Gauchos, time was yet another NCAA OeB, cut.

After three days of competition, UCSB trails UC Davis by a 532-443 margin.

The MPSF Swimming and Diving Championships will conclude on Saturday.