Awards Banquet Honors Student Athletes

April 16, 2007

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - The UC Santa Barbara Men's and Women's Swimming Awards Banquet was held Saturday, April 14, 2007 in the ICA Building Lobby at UCSB. The night included speeches by Head Coach Gregg Wilson, Assistant Coaches Jeremy Kipp and Naya Higashijima and the graduating Seniors. Awards were given out including awards voted on by the team and awards from Alumni and the Big West Conference. The night closed with dinner and a video of memories from this season.

The banquet was held to honor both the men's and women's teams for their accomplishments this season in and out of the water. Anne Marie May and Joe Plume won the "Most Improved" award voted on by their teammates. Katie Moeckel and Brooks Felton won the "David Henderickson Most Inspirational" award, Pat Cary took home the "Richard and Dawn Schroeder MVP" award. There was a tie for the women's MVP, both Jen Schwalb and Anne Marie May were voted on by their teammates for this award. Richard and Dawn Schroeder were both in attendance to present their prestigious award to these hard working athletes.

Other awards included scholarship awards for men's and women's Academic All-American teams including athletes Katie Moeckel and Scott Lindberg. Brent Nolan and Katie Moeckel took home the Gold Eagle Scholar Award. The Big West Athlete of the Week Awards were recognized. Chris Good and Pay Cary each were honored twice by Big West over the season, and Liz Wagner and Jen Schwalb were honored during the season as well. The team captains were acknowledged for their hard work and Pat Cary and Brooks Felton received the David Gray Award and the Marcie Kjoller Award went to Jen Schwalb and Katie Moeckel. The Robert Webster Award made its inaugural appearance this year honoring the first team captain for UCSB men's swimming and went to Mason Edwards for having the most Gaucho spirit.