Schmidt, Lowe Honored as All-Americans

Schmidt, Lowe Honored as All-Americans

SANTA BARBARA,Calif. – For the third straight season two UC Santa Barbara women's volleyball players were named All-Americans, it was announced by the American Volleyball Coaches Association.

Seniors Chelsey Lowe and Stacey Schmidt were named Honorable Mention All-Americans after turning in stellar seasons. The duo was honored last week as First Team All-West Region selections.

For Schmidt, it marks the second straight season that she was named an All-American. The native of Huntington Beach, Calif. is just the fourth UCSB player in the program's illustrious history to be honored twice as an All-American. She joins Kathie Luedeke (1984, 1985), Roberta Gehlke (three times: 1997, 1998, 1999) and Dana Vargas (2009, 2010) as multiple honorees.

Schmidt averaged 2.93 kills per set and 0.91 blocks per set this season while hitting .278. She was named to the All-Big West First Team for the third straight season and became the eighth Gaucho to be named to the All-West Region First Team more than once in her career.

"To be recognized nationally is an unbelievable accomplishment," UCSB head coach Kathy Gregory said. "For Stacey to receive honor once is wonderful, but to receive it twice is remarkable. Chelsey being honored is maybe a even more special because there are very few liberos who are even honored."

Lowe set a school record with her 652 total digs, for an average of 5.30 per set. That total placed her among the top 30 liberos in the nation. The Yorba Linda, Calif. native finished her career ranked in the school's top-10 in total digs and she was named to the All-Big West First Team as well. She is the first back row player to be honored as an All-American since Kristin Nelson in 2004.

UCSB, which finished the season 19-12 overall and in second place in the Big West, has had multiple selections on both the All-West Region First Team and AVCA All-American team for three straight years now. In 2009 Rebecca Saraceno and Dana Vargas were picked; last season Vargas and Schmidt were chosen.