Women's Cross Country Advances to Nationals

Women's Cross Country Advances to Nationals

Nov. 12, 2007

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Track and Field Committee announced today the team and individual qualifiers for the 2007 Division I Men's and Women's Cross Country Championships.

In order to be eligible to participate in the championships, teams and individuals were required to qualify in their respective NCAA regions.

Thirty-one teams were selected to participate in each championship. The top two, seven-person teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams were selected at-large.

Thirty-eight individuals, the first four athletes from each region who are not a part of a qualifying team and two additional qualifiers, were selected to participate in each championship. All individual qualifiers must have finished in the top 25 in their region.

Indiana State University will host the 2007 NCAA Division I Men's and Women's Cross Country Championships, November 19, at the LaVern Gibson Championship Course located at the Wabash Valley Family Sports Center, Terre Haute, Indiana. The men's race will begin at noon Eastern time followed by the women's race at 12:55 p.m. Both championship races will be broadcast live on CSTV.

The following teams and individuals were selected to the championships:

Men's Automatic Qualifying Teams
Alabama- South Region
Arkansas- South Central Region
Colorado- Mountain Region
Florida State- South Region
Georgetown- Mid-Atlantic Region
Iona- Northeast Region
Louisville- Southeast Region
Michigan- Great Lakes Region
Minnesota- Midwest Region
North Carolina State- Southeast Region
Oklahoma State- Midwest Region
Oregon- West Region
Portland- West Region
Providence- Northeast Region
Texas- South Central Region
UTEP- Mountain Region
Villanova- Mid Region
Wisconsin- Great Lakes Region

Men's At-large Teams Arizona State Brigham Young California Cal Poly Indiana Iowa State Northern Arizona Notre Dame Ohio State Stanford Tulsa Virginia William and Mary

Women's Automatic Qualifying Team Arkansas- South Central Region Colorado State- Mountain Region Duke- Southeast Region Florida State- South Region Georgia- South Region Illinois- Midwest Region Michigan- Great Lakes Region Michigan State- Great Lakes Region Minnesota- Midwest Region North Carolina State- Southeast Region Northern Arizona- Mountain Region Oregon- West Region Princeton- Mid-Atlantic Region Providence- Northeast Region Rice- South Central Region Stanford- West Region Stony Brook- Northeast Region West Virginia- Mid-Atlantic Region

Women's At-large Teams Arizona State Baylor Boston College Brigham Young UC Santa Barbara Colorado Florida Georgetown Iowa North Carolina Texas Tech Washington Wisconsin

Men's Individual Automatic Qualifiers

Great Lakes Region Andy Baker - Butler Josh Karanja - Eastern Michigan Pat Sovacool - Miami (Ohio) Craig Leon - Ohio

Middle Atlantic Region Dave Nightingale - Princeton Brendan Fennell - American Tom Slosky - Duquesne Steve Hallinan - American Michael Maag - Princeton Ben Sitler - Princeton

Midwest Region Trent Hoerr - Illinois Colby Wissel - Kansas Dan Hedgecock - Missouri Mohamed Mohamed - Southern Illinois

Mountain Region Jeremy Johnson - New Mexico Mark Korir - Wyoming Seth Pilkington - Weber State Matt Williams - Air Force

Northeast Region Patrick Mellea - Boston College John Mickowski - Army Sage Canaday - Cornell Jeff Scull - Syracuse

South Central Region Shadrack Songok - Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Francis Kasagule - Lamar Joseph Simichimba - LSU Festus Kigen - TCU

Southeast Region Josh McDougal - Liberty Jacob Korir - Eastern Kentucky Joseph Maina - Eastern Kentucky Matt Clark - Clemson

South Region Felix Kibioywo - Auburn Jeremy Criscione - Florida Micah Tirop - South Alabama David Herren - Georgia Tech

West Region Austin Ramos - UCLA Kyle Shackleton - UCLA Ulices Pina - UC Riverside Drew Shackleton - UCLA

Women's Individual Automatic Qualifiers

Great Lakes Region Laura Neufarth - Miami (Ohio) Laura Rolf - Valparaiso Alison Bishel - Ball State Genni Gardner - Butler

Middle Atlantic Region Bridget Franek - Penn State Cheyenne Ogletree - Rutgers Rachel Papin - La Salle Sheila Reid - Villanova

Midwest Region Alex Becker - Tulsa Lisa Koll - Iowa State Jessica Eldridge - Oklahoma Grace Kemmey - Iowa State Lara Crofford - Nebraska

Mountain Region Sariah Long - Weber State Gretchen Fagley-Johnson - Wyoming Morgan Haws - Weber State Sharla Platt - Southern Utah

Northeast Region McKayla Plank - Iona Lindsay Donaldson - Yale Carmen Ballard - Columbia Smita Gupta - Brown Catherine Parker - New Hampshire

South Region Lauren Blankenship - Samford Lauren Weaver - Belmont Rachel Hannah - Georgia State Elizabeth Ambrus - UAB

South Central Region Silje Fjortoft - SMU Clerc Koenck - Lamar Christina Munoz - Texas A&M Renee Graham - Lamar

Southeast Region Emily Harrison - Virginia Tasmin Fanning - Virginia Tech Diana Jepchirchir - Coastal Carolina Janet Jesang - Western Kentucky

West Region Dana Morgan - Portland Laura Mickelson - Loyola Marymount Sarah Cocco - USC Mattie Bridgmon - Eastern Washington