Gaucho Trio Named Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholars for 2019

Tyler See (Photo by Eric Isaacs)
Tyler See (Photo by Eric Isaacs)

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. - UC Santa Barbara golfters Brett Bennett, Tyler See and Justin Sheparovich were each named Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholars for 2019, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced Friday.

"I am very excited for Brett, Tyler and Justin," said Gaucho head coach Steve Lass. "This award represents the epitomé of being a Division I student-golfer. Playing well at the D-I level is extremely time consuming, and to combine that that with outstanding grades at a presigious academic university such as UCSB is quite an accomplishment. By receiveing these awards, they now become the 16th, 17th and 18th Gauchos to receive this honor since 2000."

To be eligible for Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar status, an individual must be a junior or senior academically in Division I, II or III or NAIA, or receiving their Associate's Degree and in there final year of athletic eligibility in the NJCAA. In addition, they must have participated in 50-percent of their team's competitive rounds, have a stroke average under 76.0 in D-I, 78.0 in D-II, 78.0 in NAIA, 79.0 in D-III and 77.0 in NJCAA, and maintain a cumulative career GPA of 3.2. A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at their college or university.

Here is a list of the Gauchos that have earned the honor since 2000:

2018:  Nick Swanson
2015:  Hunter Robinson.
2014: Hunter Robinson, Brett Silvernail.
2012:  Russell Boring.
2010:  Russell Boring, Brian Hollenbeck.
2009:  Matt Grush, Brian Hollenbeck.
2008:  Matt Grush.
2006:  Joe Ryon.
2004:  Brian Six.
2003:  Brian Six.
2002:  Greg Snider.
2000:  Gavin Owen.
For a complete list of the 2019 Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholars, please click here