UCSB Men Bring Home Second Consecutive MPSF Championship Win, Women Finish in Second

UCSB Men Bring Home Second Consecutive MPSF Championship Win, Women Finish in Second

MONTEREY PARK, Calif. - The UC Santa Barbara men's swim team has done it again! They are officially Mountain Pacific Sports Federation Champions for the second consecutive year finishing with a total score of seven hundred and seventeen. 

The UCSB women's swim team placed second behind University of Hawaii, for the second year in a row. They have even more determination to work hard and come back next year better than ever.  

On the final day of competition, the men showed up ready to fight with four swimmers placing in the top eight in the 1650 freestyle. The Gaucho men included Logan Hotchkiss with a first place finish (15:08.04), Joesph Lastelic in third (15:21.58), Nick Devito in fifth (15:38.97), and Jake Rollo in sixth (15:42.39). 

Following their teammates' example, another four men placed top eight in the 200 backstroke. This group included Billy Mullis with a second place (1:41.64), Douglas Nogueira in fourth (1:45.23), Ethan Archer in sixth (1:49.56), and Jolen Griffin in seventh (1:50.48). 

Up next was the 100 freestyle which the Gaucho men scored a fourth place from Mason Tittle (43.89) and a seventh place from Kian Brouwer (44.53). 

Then in the 200 breaststroke Joe Kmak earned his team thirteen points getting sixth (2:00.55) followed by Michael Wang with twelve points in seventh place (2:00.61).

In the last individual event of the meet, three Gauchos fought for a total of forty-four points. Kevin Mendoza took home second place (1:45.76), Chris Nolan placed fifth (1:47.37), and Christopher Havton took sixth (1:47.57). 

In the exciting final relay of the Conference Championships, the Gaucho men relay took home third place with another thirty-two points towards their overall score. This team included Lastelic, Brouwer, Tittle, and Hotchkiss (2:56.65). 

The UCSB men's swim team is very honored to have won MPSF Championships and are proud that their hard worked finally paid off. Congratulations to the 2017-18 Conference Champions! 

On the women's side, they started the final day of competition strong in the 1650 freestyle. Emily Boggess (16:20.96) and Rachel Forbes (16:49.72) led the women to a second and third finish earning the team thirty-three points. 

Freshman Elena England had a fantastic first MPSF Championship meet experience by placing third in the 200 backstroke (1:59.16) and earning a trophy. 

The Gaucho women had two swimmers in the top eight of the 100 freestyle, teammates Leanne Sun (50.86) placing sixth and Jacquelyn Harris placing eighth (51.44). 

Sophomore Brittney Straw held her own in the 200 breaststroke finishing fourth with a time of 2:15.28 followed closely by teammate An Nguyen in fifth (2:17.89).

Sophomores Heaven Quintana (1:58.33) and Maddie Johnson (2:00.15) had an amazing race in the 200 butterfly, fighting for first and second places. 

In the final event of the competition, the UCSB 400 freestyle relay finished second (3:20.40) behind a tough Hawaii. 

Congratulations to the Gaucho women on their second place achievement in the MPSF Championships and for finishing out their season strong. 

Both the men and women have worked hard this season and it has definitely paid off. Best of luck to the seniors who are graduating and officially done with their swimming careers; your Gaucho family is very proud of you.

Go Gauchos!