Ruddins Recognized as AVCA All-American for Third Straight Season

Ruddins Recognized as AVCA All-American for Third Straight Season

2018 AVCA Division I All-America Teams

SANTA BARBARA, Calif. – Just one week after being named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Pacific South Region Team for the third time in her career, UC Santa Barbara redshirt junior outside hitter Lindsey Ruddins earned a third straight AVCA All-America Honorable Mention selection, it was announced on Wednesday afternoon.

After recently joining Roberta Gehlke as the only three-time All-Region recipients in Gauchos' history, Ruddins and Gehlke (1997-99) now stand alone as the only three-time All-Americans in program history.

In addition to her All-American and All-Region recognition, Ruddins also landed on the All-Big West First Team for a third time, following a dominant 2018 season that saw her post career-highs in kills (587), attempts (1597), aces (41), digs (304), blocks (59) and points (662).

Ruddins' 5.34 kills per set ranked second in the nation this year and are second all-time at UCSB, trailing only herself. The 587 kills were the most during the rally scoring era (since 2001) and the third-most in program history, behind only the 1987 duo of Judy Bellomo and Yami Menendez.

She also broke her own program record with five Big West Player of the Week awards this year, one more than she had in 2017. Now with nine in her career, she is tied for No. 3 in Big West history. Appearing in all 29 matches for the first time in her career, the 6-foot-2 outside hitter was the only player in the conference to have at least 10 kills in every match she played in, something she had never done before. She ends the year with 17 20-kill efforts and a pair of incredible 30-kill performances.

She is joined by fellow Big West student-athletes Torrey and Adlee Van Winden (Cal Poly) on the All-America Team.

To view the complete list of AVCA All-America Team Award recipients, please click here.

UCSB Women's Volleyball All-America Honorees
Cindy Cochrane – 1983
Lianne Soto – 1983
Kathie Luedeke – 1984, 1985
Charlotte Mitchel – 1986
Judy Bellomo – 1987
Maria Reyes – 1990
Julie Pitois – 1992
Ana Elisa Franca – 1993
Heather Collins – 1993
Katie Crawford – 1997
Roberta Gehlke – 1997, 1998, 1999
Brooke Rundle – 2000
Danielle Bauer – 2002
Brooke Niles – 2002
Kristin Nelson – 2004
Janine Sandell – 2005
Olivia Waldowski – 2006
Rebecca Saraceno – 2009
Dana Vargas – 2009, 2010
Stacey Schmidt – 2010, 2011
Chelsey Lowe – 2011
Taylor Formico – 2012
Lindsey Ruddins – 2016, 2017, 2018